An Excellent (Healthy) Cookie Recipe

Posted: July 26, 2007 in health, healthy food, healthy sugar, sugar, sugar substitute

I found an excellent cookie recipe online here, and tweaked it to make it even healthier. I cooked some last night and it was simple, easy, and very tasty. The cookies (made without butter or oil) very very light and quite flavorful.

Modified Apple Peanut Butter Cookies

1 Cup Apple Sauce (I recommend using cinnamon Apple Sauce)

1 Cup Sweet Perfection Sugar Substitute

1/2 Peanut Butter (I used Kroger brand organic creamy P.B.)

1 egg

1 cup flour (I ran out of whole wheat flour, so I had to use regular)

1 cup rolled oats

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Combine the sugar, apple sauce, peanut butter, and egg and mix until nice and smooth. Then mix in the remaining ingredients. Spoon on to a greased baking sheet and cook for about 12-15 minutes. Let cool and then enjoy.

The original recipe had the following nutritional content per cookie:

140 calories; 5g fat; 22g Carbs; 2g fiber; 3g Protein

The New recipe has an even healthier nutritional content per cookie:

74 calories; 3.1g Fat; 15g carbs (6.75g fiber, 2.5g sugar) [8.9g net carbs]; 2.5g Protein.

Comments
  1. Yum!

    But you left out the chocolate chips. Or better yet, M&M’s!

    I guess that’s how the calories get put back in….

  2. I don’t know if you go to starbucks but they some really good muffins. I have yet to find something similar.

    I’ve tried home made recipes but no luck. I’m not a good cook either so that doesn’t help. Next time you are by a starbucks, see if you can get one of those blue berry muffins and crack their recipe. Then share it with us.

    -EI

  3. Fang says:

    Thanks for the recipe J. I will give it a shot. Sounds good.

  4. jarvis says:

    oh I dig these posts 🙂 and like the modifications you have made… peanut butter rocks!

    Blessings In Christ Bro

  5. mommyzabs says:

    Healthy Cookies? No way 🙂

  6. Tammi says:

    Sounds like an oxymoron, but looks delicious!

    Have you still been getting errors and having any trouble when going to me new blog?

  7. Yeah. Anytime I try to follow a link back to your blog when you post on a WordPress blog I get an error page.

  8. titus2woman says:

    These sound GREAT! Can’t wait to try them out! *THANK YOU!* for the heads up! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

