This morning I was getting ready for school and got a bit frazzled when I realized I didn’t have any khaki pants ready to wear. I got quite frustrated until I spotted the plastic bin that has housed my old khakis- and when I say old, I mean from back in 2001. I wasn’t sure how things would work out, as the pants I have been wearing are size 38s.

I opened the box and pulled out 8 pairs of khakis. It felt like I had just gone clothes shopping. I checked the size on all of them- 6 pairs had a 31 inch waist, and 2 pairs with a 32 inch waist.

The moment of truth, would any of them fit?

Well the 32s fit snugly (but well), and the 312 were so very close to fitting me.  I wore a pair of size 32s out of the house for the first time in 6 years.

So now my goal is to fit into those size 31s by August 15th.  In order to accomplish that I will probably have to drop between 5-8 pounds.  I know I can do it- although I am not sure how hard it will be.    Meanwhile I will think of some kind of reward to give myself if I actually achieve this goal.  Any suggestions?

Comments
  1. Congratulations! 🙂 Those are from what, your college days?

    Celebrate with some beer pong and darts. 😉 Well, if you want to go the classy route, there’s always tickets to a symphony, a date night with your wife, or the like.

  2. Neil says:

    Think of all the money you are saving – less on food and free clothes!

  3. lifelemons says:

    Congratulations! That is so awesome!!!

  4. Joseph says:

    Congrats! At the start of the month I would have gladly taken the size 38s off of your hands, but if you have any 36s around, i could use a pair or two. In fact I bought a couple of nice 38s at the end of June, and now they are too big in the waist! I’ve finally got past a plateau of 215lbs for about three weeks. This morning I weighed in at 209lbs. I’m so excited to soon be seeing three digits on the scale starting with a one!
    With respect to a reward for yourself, I’m with Theobromophile: a date night with your wife, and some new khaki’s!

    Respectfully,
    Joseph

  5. “I’m so excited to soon be seeing three digits on the scale starting with a one!”

    Congrats. It is even close than you think.

  6. eddiebear says:

    Congrats as well. Keep it up. I have battled my whole life with my weight and I know it’s a tough slog.

  7. Robert says:

    WOOHOO! Congrats, that’s fantastic. I’ve had that happen before and I’ve purposely kept around a few shirts and pairs of pants that are just a little too small for me. I’m looking forward to doing what you’ve just done. Keep it up, success is a great motivator.

Leave a Reply

