A Day in My Life…

Posted: July 24, 2007 in blogging, Blogs, Me, personal, question

I am sure (or maybe I should say deluded enough to think) that you guys are curious about my average day.  Well, for those of you are interested in knowing, here goes…

6:00 a.m. – Wake up to the alarm clock, hit to snooze button

6:09 a.m. – Hit the snooze button for the second time

6:18 a.m. – Hit the snooze button one more time

6:23 a.m. – Turn off that darn alarm clock and head into the kitchen to make my daughter breakfast.  This is easy since she usually eats either Cheerios or Kashi whole grain waffles with juice.

6:30 a.m. – Eat my own breakfast- surprisingly similar to my daughter’s choice of food.

6:45-7:15 a.m. – Getting my daughter ready.  Packing her bag, dressing her (usually picking out clothes my wife claims, “Don’t go together”), brushing her excessively knotty hair, and packing her lunch.

7:30-8:15 a.m. – Settle in with the house to myself and start my bible study.   I usually use my super huge margin bible with plenty of room for notes.  I prefer to take notes in the book I am using- as I tend to lose notebooks.

8:15-8:35 a.m. – Catch up with blogs and blog posting.

8:40-9:30 a.m. – Spend time on-line catching up on research, op-eds, etc.

9:35-11:00 a.m. – Reading or writing related to my specialty.  This week I am actually reading a book outside my specialty entitled, The Death of the Truth: What’s Wrong with Multiculturalism…, Dennis McCallum, ed.

11:00-11:45 a.m. – Walk the dog(s)

11:45 a.m. – Lunch

12:15-2:00 p.m. – More reading

2:00-2:45 p.m. – Resistance training.  I find this is my favorite time of day to workout.

2:45-4:30 p.m. – Take care of any general business (i.e. paying bills, sending letters, planning workouts and nutrition, etc).

4:35 p.m. – My wife and daughter come home.

4:35-6:15 p.m. – Playing with my daughter, and lately watching lots of Monsters Inc.

6:15-6:45 p.m. – Family dinner time at the table

7:00-8:30 p.m. – Begin my daughter’s nightly pre-bedtime ritual.  Which occurs in this order,

  1. Watch an episode of Sponge Bob,
  2. Bath,
  3. Watching Garfield (cartoon) clips on Youtube,
  4. Get her dressed for bed,
  5. Watch one more episode of Sponge Bob,
  6. Find her stuffed bear and her stuffed dog,
  7. Feed her fish,
  8. Pray,
  9. Turn off the light (but be sure to leave the hall light on).

8:35-10:00 p.m. – Spend quality time with my wife.

11:00-11:30 pm. – Watch Futurama

11:35 p.m. – Go to sleep

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    You are very disciplined! I tend to be very efficient but not as structured as that. I’m going to try setting timetables like that.

  2. atatude says:

    I don’t know how you do it. You didn’t go to the restroom once all day! My schedule includes at least a half hour to listen to my wife vent about work and at least 10 minutes combined yelling at the kids. I stare blankly into space for a while and burn at least 5 minutes changing the channel on the TV. One thing I have never done but thought I should is to meditate a few minutes in some as yet unfound quite corner. Have you ever tried unstructured meditation?

    Well restroom breaks are often combined with reading times. I do some of my best reading on the thrown.

    My wife’s venting time usually happens while I do chores. I like to let her see that I do do something around this house. 🙂

    “Have you ever tried unstructured meditation?”

    In the past, but now all my meditations are structured around my Bible Study. And I usually use my walks or runs to focus on what I learned. It helps me keep my mind off how much I dislike running, and cardio seems to allow me a high level of focus.

  3. The Hermit says:

    I like Futurama too. Bender is my role model.

  4. Simone says:

    Sounds like a great day!

  5. Jason Weeks says:

    you wake up super early! ive been trying to do that too but i just cant. whats your secret?

  6. Hi Jason. Thanks for commenting. I should not that three days a week I wake up at 3:45 a.m.

    The secret is as simple as a VERY loud alarm clock that is stationed across the room.

Leave a Reply

