As the Deadline Approaches I Sit Here Uninspired…

Posted: July 19, 2007 in creation, definition, goal, goals, History, life, Me, my life, plans, publication, slave, slave patrols, slavery, wisdom, work, worry

Well, I am due to turn in my encyclopedia entry on slave patrols on August 1.  The only problem is that I can’t find my muse.  I have written four drafts, all of which I’ve torn up (figuratively since I am using Word) and thrown away (deleted).  Which stinks since most of them were near complete but they weren’t quite what I wanted to write.  The topic of slave patrols is so large and I only have 750 words to express all I want to say.  This is driving me crazy.

So I guess I need to pray, focus real hard, block all outside distractions (dog, radio, etc.) and just sit here till I either starve, go insane, or write the perfect entry.  I am hoping that the third option happens first.  Although, while in law school I came pretty close to the first and second taking place all too often.

Comments
  1. rand says:

    I had to look up what slave patrols were. Never knew they existed…well, formally and had a given name. Shameful time period.
    Good luck getting over the slump. Post your entry if you can. I’d like to read it.

  2. I will post it, but might have to take it down soon thereafter since they will most likely be copyrighting it. You wouldn’t believe how little I am getting paid for this…lol.

  3. isaacme says:

    just remember to always make an outline before you make your rough draft. Outlines are extreemly helpful.

Leave a Reply

