A Prayer for Today…

Posted: July 18, 2007 in law, Me, personal, prayer

Lord, You are a loving and generous God,

A faithful and steadfast Father,

Blessing those who seek You, and granting perfect peace to those whose minds are fixed on You,

Lord, I pray that You bless this family with abundance,

Not that we might fulfill our wants, but that we might give it all away to glorify You.

Bless this family with peace,

Not that we might avoid adversity, but that our focus might remain fixed on You throughout.

Bless this family with wisdom,

Not that we might hide behind books in seclusion, but that we might better apply Your Word to a world in need.

Bless this family with opportunities,

Not that we might advance ourselves, but that our actions might display Christ in this world.

Bless this family with insults and offenses from this world,

Not that we might be besieged, but that we might show Christ-likeness in our ability to forgive and bless those who curse us.

Help us open our home to both neighbors and strangers alike that You see fit to bring inside.

Help us be a shining light of truth and hope in a community desperate for You.

May our actions always be just but tempered with mercy; may our words always be true but blended with love; may we pursue You with all our heart, soul, strength, and mind, in all we do.

I will stand upon the rock that is my Lord, I pray You give me the strength the stand. I will build my house upon the solid ground of Your Word, I pray You give me wisdom to understand Your will. I will guide my path with Your righteous commands and laws, I pray that You lay them on my heart and mind daily.

Comments
  1. Scotti says:

    Amen, Brother!

  2. timbob says:

    Greetings. May we all be like-minded and seek to do to the glory of the Lord Jesus Christ.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.

    timbob

  3. Michelle says:

    Your blog comment cracked me up TT. That sounds like something my hubby would do..leave the xbox on all night..yeah and you know his name is Simeon. We call him Sim for short..LOL.

  4. Heidi Jo says:

    i needed that prayer today for my own family! thanks.

  5. krislinatin says:

    TT, i’m stealing this prayer for my bible study group tomorrow, we are doing proverbs 31 and family is one of the topics!
    thanks, kristina

  6. No problem, it is not stealing since I don’t claim to own any of my prayers. 🙂

  7. krislinatin says:

    you wrote that, wow, i can’t ever write anything that great or even pray like that, i get so nervous doing it in front of people. i know, just let the holy spirit move ya, but i just stumble over words and my mind goes blank when put in the position to pray out loud.
    Its ok to have something in front of me to guide me, right? Thats one of reasons i feel unworthy of leading a bible study, among others…
    Peace for your day, Kristina

  8. abarclay12 says:

    Do you know the prayer of Jabez? It’s kind of an odd prayer, but there’s something about it I really like.

    Good prayer today and thanks for checkin in on my blog too. I appreciate it – even when you’re forced to read about T.S. Syndrome.

  9. Neil says:

    Amen! Now that’s the kind of prayer God answers affirmatively.

  10. rand says:

    That hit me at a good time. Thanks for sharing the prayer.

  11. mommyzabs says:

    Amen. Amen. Amen.

  12. krislinatin says:

    BTW, the ladies at my bible study loved your prayer!

  13. Well, give them copies if you like. Pass it out if you feel so led. I don’t mind. 🙂 I am glad to know that it was enjoyed by others.

Leave a Reply

