My Heritage, My Academic Future, and My Medical History…

Posted: July 17, 2007 in prejudice, race, racism, reperations, slave, Slave Trade, slavery

Well let’s start with the big news. I am black– well part black. My opinion on reparations has changed overnight. Not only that, but now I can tell black jokes without feeling guilty.

It turns out my father’s great-great-grandfather was a former slave turned notable layman astronomer. I am currently researching this to confirm or deny it. What an interesting thing to learn about my family’s history.

In “not surprising but nice to know news,” I received an e-mail from the department secretary at my Ph.D. program disclosing the class I will T.A. for. I will be working on a U.S. History to 1865 course. This is ideal as it is well within my specialty. It might even give me an excuse to use my “What is Slavery” lecture. The class is an early morning class, so I will have plenty of time to hit the gym between the classes I teach (mornings) and the classes I attend (afternoons and evenings).

Also, while cruising the web today, I learned that the surgeon who performed my appendectomy back in 2001 later botched 50 surgeries.

Dr. Steven E. Olchowski performed the surgeries between December 2000 and the spring of 2002 at New Hanover Regional Medical Center, which is facing eight malpractice lawsuits stemming from the weight-loss operations. [1]

Whoops. I sure hope everything is going well inside of me.

Comments
  1. DulceDiana says:

    Some people may not find the video funny, but the truth is people do that and not just about other people’s color, but really anything.
    Q: Is it really important for you to know your heritage?
    Just curious…

  2. “Some people may not find the video funny, but the truth is people do that and not just about other people’s color, but really anything.”

    I find the video amusing for exactly that reason. People know these jokes are wrong so they go out of their way to make sure no one from the group(s) included in the joke is (are) present. I simply avoid telling the joke.

    “Q: Is it really important for you to know your heritage?”

    I thought this information was interesting. It explains some stuff about my family’s history. For example, it explains why my great grandfather stood up for black coal miners so much so that the local KKK drove him and his family out of town.

    Does it change me? Nope. Although I am wondering if I can check off “African-American” on my application forms…hmmm….

    Oh, and I didn’t even tell the best part, he was married to a Mohawk Indian. So I am part Indian (Native American) as well.

  3. Debbie says:

    I imagine many of us would be surprised to see the religions and races in our history and DNA. There’s no such thing as a ‘pure’ race, and anyone who thinks that is misguided. We are all human, part of the human race, no better, no worse than any other. I’m ‘white’ but I know I have some American Indian on both my parents side. Further back than that, I have no idea.

    On the video, we watch Family Guy, and I think Stewie is very funny. Things can be funny, and wrong, at the same time. As humans we laugh at things that we would never, every think or say, things we do not believe. Comedians make fun of themselves, make fun of anything. They don’t care if it’s politically incorrect.

  4. You’re also white, so you would have to give reparations to yourself. 🙂

  5. “You’re also white, so you would have to give reparations to yourself.”

    What you talkin’ about Willis?

  6. Scott says:

    Love that show. I also enjoy tracing my family history, as it really changes the way you look at things.

  7. bridget, you’re a genius…

    and here I was about to rant and rave at him for expecting reparations…

  8. Thank you, LoneDrifter! 🙂

    (We’ll make sure he doesn’t get reparations… hee hee hee.)

  9. Joseph says:

    TT:

    In the interest of full disclosure: I am a Christian man of color (ie black), conservative in life and politics. I respectfully submit the following musings in no particular order:

    Video was amusing. I don’t watch the show, so knowing the characters is lost upon me.

    Contrary to popular opinion, checking African American on an application is way over-rated. I must admit, that I haven’t had to fill out such in quite some time. If that was or is the reason some organization wanted me to join, I headed in the opposite direction.

    Grrrrr! Don’t get me started on the foolishness of reparations.

    I look forward to reading the History/PhD section of your blog and the articles on slavery. I’ve been too busy enjoying the TT Weight and Financial Challenges when I am not agrreing with your posts over at Neils. 🙂

    You should offer “expert” testimony for the defense of that poor MD in NC. Since your appy, you have successfully lost weight haven’t you? 😉

    As far as you now being black, welcome to the club. Please send your annual dues directly to me. As soon as they your dues are recieved, I will kindly send you the Cultural Orientation Packet, annual conference schedules, the monthly newsletter, and a listing of various boards and societies. As a special we are also promoting our compendium of Black Jokes for a small fee to new members. Act now!

    Humorously,
    Joseph

  10. “I look forward to reading the History/PhD section of your blog and the articles on slavery. I’ve been too busy enjoying the TT Weight and Financial Challenges when I am not agrreing with your posts over at Neils.”

    Head over to

    http://thehistorydump.wordpress.com/

    I haven’t updated it much, but I do have one really good posting. I will be updating it more in a month or two.

    “You should offer “expert” testimony for the defense of that poor MD in NC. Since your appy, you have successfully lost weight haven’t you?”

    That was an appendectomy. And to make matters worse I put on 10lbs after due to my inability to move for about a month after the surgery.

  11. isaacme says:

    lol I’m sure your insides are fine.

  12. in2thefray says:

    Classic cartoon cut.Truth in animation though.Interesting family history.I have family born in S.Africa. Once they checked African American on something.It seemed the right thing to do. It was not taken well by the officials.

  13. wytammic says:

    Hi TT,
    First of all, congratulations on being black. Now you can play that affirmative action card 😉

    Second of all, you’d better be at my blog tomorrow when comment of the week comes out with this from Bridget:

    You’re also white, so you would have to give reparations to yourself.

  14. So my, “what you talkin’ about Willis?” retort doesn’t make the cut?

  15. wytammic says:

    Well, technically you would need someone (aka Bridget) to nominate it. I forgot about that! That’s darn funny Arnold 😉

  16. Chance says:

    I’ve always need to make sure that various races are represented fairly in the blogs that I visit. I will be sure to visit yours more often. Unless you find out that it’s bogus, then I will just visit you what a white person deserves.

  17. Ms. Tillman says:

    i think this whole place is straight whack,i’m leaving,we don’t want you anyway,stay off the mousse , you’re killing my pupils!!!!

  18. John says:

    Thanks for sharing Ms. Tillman.

Leave a Reply

