Okay, completion never happens.  After all, you have to work hard your whole life to maintain what you have struggled to gain.  But here it is day 119 and I am 38 POUNDS lighter– I weighed in at 168.6 this morning.  Imagine that, I am more than 80% of the way towards completing my initial goal- reaching my fire department weight (age 18) of 159 lbs.  Once there I have some new goals.

So now as I near my initial goal, it seems a good time to establish some new goals.  This is what I am thinking…

  1. Body fat levels between 6% and 8%.
  2. An extra 5-10 pounds of muscle.
  3. Run a 10k
  4. Follow through on my goal to compete in Ninja Warrior

I view these goals just as seriously as my goal to reach 159 lbs.  Yet, as I am already so much healthier for all I’ve already done, I won’t be pushing this time line as fast.

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    Great Job!! Thanks for inspiring the rest of us lazy people to move. It’s not everyday you see a man (or atleast I don’t in my family!!) that wants to get down in weight. My husband is a stick. He has a natural six pack. It’s disgusting how fit he is and he doesn’t even try. He’s 30. It’s pretty much genetic because his dad is the same exact way. He plays b-ball and he’s almost 65. (I have a good story about that one as well). Anyway, I have about as much weight to lose as you do. I don’t know if I’ll ever get there. It feels like forever. But reading your blog gives me some inspiration..maybe I can do it. On a side note, what can you recommend for women and strength training? I’m not a guy nor am I about to lift huge cement blocks in my yard. I do have hand weights that I use and those seems good enough, atleast for now, but as for exercises–do you have any websites or resources you could recommend. I’d like to tone up! Losing weight is good, but I don’t want a bunch of flab all over…I want muscle. Any suggestions? Keep it up!!

  2. faithwalk says:

    Yea JK! Way to hang in there and press on towards the mark. Thankfully I know you are also pressing on towads THE ultimate prize found in Christ! 🙂

    Blessings to you as you finish the race,

    Susan

  3. That prize is so much more precious. But I feel like completing this quest is part of the larger quest. For if I can’t discipline my body in this small task (eating healthy) how can I discipline my even more rebellious mind and soul that so easily turn toward worldly things?

    This is just practice. 🙂

  4. Trina says:

    Wow this has been such an inspiring read! I think its so impressive that you are pressing in and gaining towards your goal. The before and after picture are amazing! Good for you and keep it up. I will have my hubby come check out your blog. I think he will feel the same way.

  5. stevereenie says:

    And to think just 3 days ago you went to that cook out and ate like a “P-I-G” You see, you have to take a break and go overboard periodiocally. …… Next Stop Lauderdale

  6. I definitely like that advice.

  7. isaacme says:

    The problem with loosing weight is for every pound you loose, the next one is twice [or more] as hard. That said, you have incredible will power my friend so I’m sure you’ll do fine.

  8. lifelemons says:

    I am glad to see how close you are getting to your goals. You are doing an excellent job!

  9. wytammic says:

    You have done fantastic! Keep up the good work 🙂

  10. faithwalk says:

    Good point, I have a similar view regarding living a disciplined life, though must confess food is the hardest discipline. Thankfully I inherited a genetic predisposition towards being more on the thinner side as long as I keep active.
    Blessings and grace to you in both!

Leave a Reply

