Well this morning I weighed in only to find out (despite my expectations to the contrary) that I weighed 169.8 lbs.  170 lb barrier, meet determination, determination, this is 170 lb barrier.  It is good to see that determination won out. 

This means that I am now less that 10 lbs away from my goal weight of 159 (healthy) lbs.  Just to think of that is amazing.  Even if I only lose one pound a week, that means that in ten weeks I could be at that point I have thought of since I began this weight loss journey in February.  It doesn’t get much more inspiring than that.

Thank God for the patience- since I know I have never had enough before. I feel so blessed to see this moment.  After countless failed diets and only semi-successful attempts at weight loss I had been discouraged when I began four months ago. 

Just to think of my past attempts was depressing.  I tried to lose weight before my wedding (in 2004) and got down to 179 lbs only to regain the weight during the first few months of my marriage.  I tried to lose weight back in 2006 only to get down to 184 and then balloon back up to 206 (my highest weight ever) thanks to just giving up when I hit a nasty plateau at 183 lbs.  The only difference between me then and me now is determination and perseverance.  The old me would have given up half a dozen times these last few months, the new me finds enough support and encouragement in prayer and friends to move ahead despite despair. 

Thank you all for your help and encouragement over these last few months.        

When I get home I will take some new pics and have them posted sometime tomorrow. 

Comments
  1. wytammic says:

    Congratulations! You’ve worked so hard and should be quite proud 🙂

  2. Neil says:

    Congratulations and thanks for the update!

  3. silverneurotic says:

    Congratulations!

  4. congratulations! Great work!

    Shakesepeare Fat

  5. lifelemons says:

    I am SOOOOO happy for you!

    Congratulations!

  6. timbob says:

    Greetings. Determination and perseverance. It’s amazing how the marketplace is so filled with “lose weight quick” schemes. Pills, diets, all sorts of programs that promise the ability to “do whatever you want and lose weight.” Your chronicling of the battle, both the victories and the setbacks, is a great testimony. I don’t comment often as I don’t really work out (although now that you weigh less than me, I should consider it) I am always encouraged when stopping in.

    have a blesed day in Christ.

    timbob

  7. Thanks for the comments Tim. I give all the glory for anything I’ve been able to accomplish to God. I know without Him I would never have made it this far. I know that because I tried countless times without Him, and always failed miserably. It is as much a spiritual struggle as a physical one.

  8. Phil Sabin says:

    I am always trying to look for the one secret that will make the difference. Isn’t it amazing that after all the attempts at quick fixes, it basically comes down to determination and perserverance – just like God said.

    Phil

  9. molly says:

    Way to go John! I know what you mean “crossing the barrier”. Going to the next set of numbers is so inspiring! I’m sitting at 160.8 lbs and I’m hoping to make it to the 150’s next weigh in. It is all about determination and just hard work. Very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

