Shake

Ah, the joys of a good morning shake.  For mine I like to use 1/2 cup of low-calorie yogurt, 1/2 cup 1% milk, 1/2 cup frozen strawberries, 1/2 cup frozen blackberries, and one banana, 1/4 whole (cooked) oats.   These kind of shakes are always tasty, refreshing, and full of nutrients and vitamins.

It is the kind of drink I need to get myself moving in the morning.  The simple (and natural) sugars give the mind a good push-start, while the protein from the yogurt and milk are great fuel for the ol’ muscles.  Lastly, the oats provide good complex carbs for long term energy production.

Now for the meal plan

Breakfast: Fruit shake, Waffle w/ small amount of natural maple syrup, 1 quart water.

Snack: Chocolate bar and protein shake

Lunch: Peanut Butter and jelly sandwich, carrots, 1 quart water.

Snack: Fruit bar, protein pudding.

Dinner: Pita Pizzas w/ veggies, 1 quart of water.

And for resistance training, I think I will kind of feel my way through it.  I am thinking five kinds of push-ups mixed with five kinds of ab exercises.

Comments
  1. stevereenie says:

    TT, did you have that donut at church Sunday? ……… Next Stop Lauderdale

  2. Proud to report I made a healthier snack choice. I ate one serving of Nilla Wafers (140 calories), one banana, and a handful of strawberries and red grapes. All that no doubt had fewer calories than one donut.

  3. Neil says:

    Sounds tasty!

    What do you mean by “cooked” oats? Is that oatmeal, or something else?

    I tried using oats in a shake once, but it was sort of like making cement. I make big shakes and save some for later.

  4. I agree with Neil–

    I was with you until the oats.

    Since I’m a grain fan, I usually get plenty of whole grains other places and wouldn’t want them in my smoothie. But sounds otherwise like a great recipe.

    Nice blog, by the way!

  5. Scotti says:

    This looks yummy and I think my boys and I could enjoy them together. I am curious about the oats also – Quaker oats, cooked?
    Scotti

  6. writerchick says:

    Hey TT,
    I didn’t know there were 5 different kinds of push ups.

    For smoothies, I like almond milk (non sweetened)there’s more protein and no fat and it’s quite tastey too.
    WC

  7. rand says:

    that is a good shake, hadn’t tried the oats in it before, but its good.

  8. “What do you mean by “cooked” oats? Is that oatmeal, or something else?”

    Try the quaker oats plain cooked oats. If you don’t add too much you’ll barely notice that they are in the shake. Also, something you might want to consider adding is flax seed. About two tablespoons is good, and they are even less noticable than the oats. They do however tend to stick to your teeth.

  9. Neil says:

    Thanks for the tips. I’ll try just about anything in my shakes. I used peanut butter a few times. I almost did tuna, but in a rare bout of common sense I decided not to.

  10. Tuna…ewwww. I don’t like peanut butter, it takes over and makes it taste like a peanut butter shake.

    Try the flax seed.

  11. Neil says:

    Where do you get flax seed?

  12. Most grocery stores carry it. Check the shelves in the health food section.

  13. Justin V says:

    As far as the running, how much are you doing? Do you have a an iPod? Have the Nike+ pack? Would love to “virutally run” with/against you!! Gotta stay motivated.

  14. I run about 15-20 minutes or I do intervals. No I-pod. What is the Nike+ pack? Virtually run?

  15. lifelemons says:

    That shake looks scrumptious!

  16. Justin V says:

    The Nike+ pack is a chip and senor that goes in your shoes and your iPod. It keeps track of your pace and mileage. You can join groups and run with others across the country. Maybe you’re running 5 miles a week, and to keep you consistent you join that group. Maybe someones sets up a challenge fist one to 100 Miles, or Most miles for the summer. There are also charity runs, for Breast, Lung cancer etc.

  17. Interesting. How much does one run? No pun intended.

  18. Justin V says:

    Well the Nike+ chip/senor is only 29.99. Ipod Nano sold seperately LOL.. Note you do note need the Special Nike Shoes. Those shoes just have a hold for the senor, I just place mine under the tongue, cause Nike doesn’t make shoes for “feet”.

  19. Justin V says:

    Should read..

    Well the Nike+ chip/sensor is only 29.99. Ipod Nano sold seperately LOL.. Note you do need the Special Nike Shoes. Those shoes just have a hole for the senor built-in. I just place mine under the tongue of my Brooks Beast, cause Nike doesn’t make shoes for “my” feet.

  20. That makes more sense Justin…lol.

  21. krislinatin says:

    i will second the flax seed, but get the liquid. your body can’t process whole flax, just like corn. and we all now what corn looks like coming out…. 😦
    then you can’t get the good stuff from it.
    also, awesome job on the yard and workout equipment, when do you have time to work/school?
    it just never seems like there is enough hours in the day.
    wheat germ is also good and get some protein in there, try the big bag of EAS protein at costco, if you go there, its just pure protein and relatively cheap. 24+ bucks for a huge bag, lasts forever!
    or if you have some sort of magic bullet, use the flat blade to pulverize the oats or seeds first.
    i have actually been known to shove a protein bar in my shake in the morning, to double the power and flavor.
    more veggies,man. the starch veggies, like potatoes and carrots and beets and squash are not so hot because they convert into sugar!
    ok, im done, not that you asked for my 2 cents but got it anyway, hope it helps.
    kristina
    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

