Here I am stuck at 174.2 lbs. I’ve been as low as 173.4 and as high as 174.8 in the last week and a half. Plateaus are frustrating- especially if you lot weight quickly in the past. But it happens to us all, we eventually hit a plateau that means weight loss will be slow (at least for a while). How do we break out?

  1. Check your Basal Metabolic Rate again. Your BMR will change as you lose weight and gain muscle. For example, when I began my BMR as a sedentary 206lb man was 2,151 calories per day. Now, as a 174 lb moderately active man, my BMR is 2,371 calories per day. Imagine that, I need MORE calories now. So think, maybe you’ve cut back too much on your calories and you need to consume more HEALTHY foods to up your caloric intake. A good BMR calculator can be found here.
  2. Be aware the amount of calories you burn through activity. Check out sites like this. You select the activity, input the time spent doing it and your weight and age. It will tell you how many calories you burn running, skiing, grocery shopping, or even kissing.
  3. Shake things up. Don’t fall into a routine. Could you work out harder? Could you run longer? Could you implement interval training? Step back and look at what you’ve been doing, evaluate it, and plan your response. If you’ve been taking it easy then train harder, if you’ve been training really hard maybe you’ve over trained and should back off a bit.
  4. Consider taking a supplement. I am often wary of supplements and they do cost a good chunk of change. But now that Wal-mart sells a good range of supplements you can get them at a reasonable price. For example, I can get a months worth of Whey Protein drinks (large tub) from Wal-mart for a little over $11 bucks. When you think of the cost of the food I would eat during those snacks (the food I am replacing with that protein drink), the difference in cost is negligible. Other sites also offer advice on possible supplement choices.
  5. Refocus. Don’t lose focus, and if you’ve already lost focus, refocus. Remember why you started losing weight in the first place and picture in your mind you reaching your goals. Think of how good that will feel. Don’t let your frustration get you off track.
Comments
  1. silverneurotic says:

    I always heard it was good to have a different workout everyday.

  2. Rick says:

    Hey, congratulations on your loss. Blogging is a great way to keep track of all of that and stay accountable. I like your Bible studies on here as well. Check us out over at FatBloggers.net and consider joining us! You’d fit right in . Keep up the good work.

    Rick
    FatBloggers.net

  3. How do I join Rick? Do I get a cool t-shirt? lol.

  4. […] When it comes to losing weight and hitting those darn weight plateaus, knowing how to break through plateaus will help you work your way closer to your fitness goals. A very helpful post on Breaking Plateaus […]

  5. I also found that switching up the routine when I hit a plateau helps.

    I think it is necessary to reset your body’s natural reaction to burning fat by eating a little more when you plateau (being very careful not to fall back into bad habits, it’s not permission to binge, just eat some healthy food that you may not normally eat for about a week, not going too overboard, maybe an extra 100 or 200 calories per day, and cut back a bit on your excercise or switch it up with something you don’t normally do like swimming or more walking in it’s place for the week)

    I found that during this week I didn’t gain, that may be a good guideline to follow, but would loose easier again the following week when I cut back and went back to my normal exercise routine again.

    I’ve posted things that worked for me and my journey at my blog
    http://www.queenofkaos.com/SIZZLIN-blog

  6. […] can read a post I made on  a thread on breaking plateaus at the Total Transformation […]

  7. “I think it is necessary to reset your body’s natural reaction to burning fat by eating a little more when you plateau…”

    The way I’ve done this is to allow myself two to three day of eating relatively high carb meals- pizza, chicken parm., etc. Although I end up a little heavier on the scale (usually about a 1/2 a lb or so), that pound comes off very quick and my weight loss process picks back up and the plateau is over.

Leave a Reply

