Well maybe not throwing it away, how about putting it away for two weeks.  For the last three months I have been practically chained to that thing, morning, afternoon, and dinner.  I am almost ashamed to admit I even took to weighing myself pre and post-meals (as I was curious to know how much weight I gained).

So I put the scale in the spare bathroom for the next two weeks.  And from now until May 26th, I will be giving up my 6-8 time a day habit of weighing in.

Why am I doing this?  Well, I am just curious if it will be beneficial.  Could it improve my weight loss journey?  I don’t know.  I will miss the instant feedback- checking too see if I ate too much for dinner.  But maybe it will offer me a level of freedom that will motivate me.  We shall see.

Comments
  1. Vanessa says:

    There are so many variables attached to using a scale, which can throw you right off track if it tells you something you don’t want to hear. That said, we still torture ourselves with the bloody things…

    Measurements are a much safer and reliable way to guage weight loss.

    I should listen to my own advice, heh.

  2. I guess so.

    I did however read somewhere that people who weigh themselves daily (once they have reached their goal weight) are less likely to regain the weight they lost. So even if this works well I will bring the scale back out for daily weigh-ins once I reach 159.

  3. Vanessa says:

    The weighing thing is worse for women than it is for men, due to fluid retention at certain times of the month and whatnot…

    It’s interesting that you’ve read that. If you don’t get crazy in the head from flutctuations, I can see how that might just work…

    Womena and men are so very different in terms actual of weight loss and how they deal with it day to day…

Leave a Reply

