You’ve seen these folks before, you might even be one. They don’t trust in their own abilities. They worry about whether or not they can make (and keep) a real commitment and as a result never commit to anything. They stagnant and fester, unchanging and afraid. That kind of life isn’t worth living, I know because I’ve lived it.

Losing faith in your own abilities doesn’t happen overnight. It is the result of countless promises you failed to keep. For me it was a promise I made to conduct a bible study everyday for 45 minutes. I would try and I would fail- over and over. Finally, I rationalized my failure, I just couldn’t do it. So I refused to start that commitment over again. Why should I? I was destined to fail- or at least I thought so.

I followed the same course with my eating habits.  I tried to commit to eating better.  And I did- for about a week or two, sometimes maybe four or five.  But eventually it happened, inevitably I went off the deep end and consume a whole pizza or a whole king sized Burger King meal.  Once I did that, why not eat some cookies and drink a milkshake?

So I want to ask you. How often has a lack of faith in your own abilities kept you from God? How often has it kept you from adopting a positive change in your life?

Yes, when we come to God, we must at some level accept that we are powerless to save ourselves. But we must also have faith that He will give us the strength to move ahead toward a better and more fulfilling life. Without that faith we are left to flounder and wriggle at the end of a hook composed of our own self-doubt and lack of trust (in self and God).

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation ; the old has gone, the new has come!” 2 Corinthians 5:17.

Submit yourself prayerfully, look towards the end in all you do, and walk your path accordingly. You will find you can accomplish more than you ever thought possible.

Comments
  1. stevereenie says:

    Good Points and it looks like you are walking the walk. . . . Next Stop Lauderdale

  2. Karla says:

    Thanks for these thoughts – they’ve definitely given me something to think about tonight.

Leave a Reply

