Our Emotional Roller Coaster

Posted: May 4, 2007 in Christ, faith, family, finances, home, life, long range plans, Me, misc, my life, News

The last few days have been a real emotional roller coaster.  After being told for the last six months or so to expect year round schools (and budgeting our money accordingly) we found out that a local superior court judge had ruled against the local school board.  This meant that my wife would not receive a dime in pay over the summer- and since we didn’t save because we had no reason to expect her to be unemployed over summer, in short, we were screwed. 

Luckily, today, the school board came out and announced that they would be going ahead with year round schools on a voluntary basis– not mandatory.  I breathed a sigh of relief.  However, I can’t get too happy yet.  The same parents who brought the original case against mandatory year round schools are threatening to sue again. 

We are just praying this job situation with the schools can find some kind of stability.  Please keep us in your prayers. 

Comments
  1. Fang says:

    I hope everything works out for you guys. Thinking of you from Australia.

  2. Jay says:

    I hope your budget situation works out, but I have to ask: “Who the heck doesn’t want a summer break?”

  3. “Who the heck doesn’t want a summer break?”

    Me! Every kid I have talked to who attends year round school (and has also previously attended traitional calendar schools). It works out so much better. You get a three week break in each season. Just when break gets boring you head back to school- long before you’ve forgotten half of what you learned. And your break isn’t wasted in the hottest months of the year.

    Plus, you can go on vacation in the off-season. We were planning (money allowing) a trip to Asheville in October during my wife’s break.

    So in short, I wish I had attended year round school. Everytime you are just about sick of school (every nine weeks) you get a three week break.

  4. Neil says:

    I think year round schools make a lot of sense. It got voted down in our area years ago. It makes more sense for asset utilization, spreading the work out, taking vacations at non-peak times, etc.

    But a few malcontents spoiled it for the rest of us. They derailed the proposal but didn’t have anything to offer in return to help save $$.

  5. Praying for your family. I was just in Durham & Winston-Salem this past week and heard this on the local news stations. Blessings!

  6. “But a few malcontents spoiled it for the rest of us. They derailed the proposal but didn’t have anything to offer in return to help save $$.”

    Isn’t that the way it always is? In our case it was a bunch of upper (upper) middle-class (most live in the neighborhood where median house value is somewhere around $600,000) who got mad about losing their “traditional” summer.

    I am starting to hope the convert every school (elementary, middle, and high) to year round schedules.

  7. ashjoshua says:

    hey i’ll be praying……

  8. mommyzabs says:

    very interesting. I pray no matter what happens that you will find much provision. “in his heart a man plans his course but the Lord determines his steps”. God has you and knows that you were not being unwise in your planning, that you were working on what you knew. I pray that if for some reason your wife ends up not being able to work this summer that you willl find miraculous provision that can only come from God.
    Blessings.

  9. Joni says:

    I used to be opposed to year round school until I met a teacher who came from that system. Boy it just seems it would work so much better all around.

    I know you’ve heard this so let me just add my redundancy…God will be totally trustworthy to give what you need. I will pray right now for your family’s peace of mind and for God to “let you off the hook” and give a glimpse of how He will take care of you.

  10. Jay says:

    Well, I guess I never thought too much about “year-round” school before. Thanks for all the great insight. It sounds interesting. In high school, I remember working full-time during a couple summer breaks to pay for my truck and gas, etc. I don’t know if many employers would have hired me for only three weeks at a time?

  11. Gram Kaiser says:

    Did you know that your Aunt Elisa is fighting the year round schooling in NV? Haven’t heard from her in a while, so don’t know the outcome. I agree with your observations.

Leave a Reply

