Setting Goals the Right Way

Posted: April 29, 2007 in change, experiment, faith, family, farm, farming, finances, goal, goals, hobbies, hopes, investment, life, long range plans, Me, misc, my life, News, setting goals

It is easy to dream.  The hard part is making your dreams come true.  One thing that is certain, no dream comes true while you sit on the couch watching Lost- unless your dream is sitting on the couch watching Lost.  So how do we accomplish our dreams and goals?

**Warning: All endeavors should be undergirded with MUCH prayer.  Do not follow the steps below without also taking time to seek God’s will and His assistance.****

I find it easiest to achieve goals when I set up a staging process.  As an example, here is “Steps to Achievement” for the ranch I am looking into purchasing, starting, and running.

Stage 1 (Things that can be done in the first 6 months)

  • Research– Research land purchases (financing, pricing, etc.), ranching, raising livestock (alpacas, goats, sheep), and taking care of horses.
  • Savings– All extra funds are directed toward a savings account set up specifically for the future ranch.
  • Location– Look at regional locations for the ranch.

Stage 2 (Steps that can begin between 6 months and 1 year from this date)

  • Narrow down location to specific area(s) (in conjunction with universities that might offer employment).
  • Move money from savings account to a money market account.
  • Talk with experienced ranchers and farmers.  Ideally with men who started their own establishments.

Stage 3 (Steps that can being between 1 and 3 years from today).

  • Pick top 3 locations, make offers.
  • Start ranch corporation (non-profit?).
  • Look into purchasing necessary livestock.

Stage 4 (Steps that can begin 3 to 5 years from this date).

  • Close on land
  • Finance new home to be built on the property.

As you can see this list is still pretty skeletal.  Over the next few months, as I complete more research, the list will grow and expand.

As you look toward accomplishing your own goals, make your own list.  Learn what must be done to make your dreams a reality.  When you have an outline it is easier to stick to your path.  Following a dream without an outline is like hiking without a compass- you are almost guaranteed to get lost.

Best of luck in pursuing your own dreams.

Comments
  1. DM says:

    This post reminds me very much of what I was doing about 20 years ago. setting a 1 year, 5 year, 10 year goal and also a “at the end of my life, looking back, what would I like to say I had acomplished” goal. I preface all of that by what you said at the beginning…bathe everything in prayer…and if your heart is soft and right before God, there is every reason to believe he will direct your steps….I am currently experiencing virtually every “goal” I had initially put on paper…and believe me, I was starting from scratch on all of them.
    The challenge is always to “hold all of these things loosely”, and yet still be able to enjoy them.

  2. Justin says:

    very good work with this post. I enjoy your website a lot.

  3. Thanks Justin. I like your blog as well. Is a link trade in order?

  4. donna says:

    Excellent post…prayer being of utmost importance…
    thanks for visiting my blog…appreciate your support

  5. Neil says:

    I like your plan. It reminds me of one of my favorite lessons to teach – Decision Making and the Will of God. It emphasizes how everything we do should be moral, then we ask God for wisdom then consider our personal preferences. Looks like you are on the right track.

    Speaking of link trades – I added you to my blogroll; feel free to add me, but no obligation.

  6. I certainly will, can’t believe I haven’t already.

  7. isaacme says:

    A plan is always a good start. I didn’t know you wanted to start a rach. That’s so cool. What type of animals? The only type of ranch I could ever stand would be a horse ranch.

  8. Oooh, just when I thought I was going home, I see that word ‘farming’ over there in that column next to my response. Well, you know, being the farm diva I am, I just had to click! But, Dahling…what type of ranch will you be starting? I’m thinking you may enjoy my mustang diaries, as I’ve found myself doing a lot of relating to my faith in Christ while working the horses. Still over on blogger, but if you’d like to pop in, it’s http://mustangdiaries.blogspot.com (I haven’t figured out the whole blogroll thing yet, so there’s no link from my wordpress blog. I feel like I’m spamming when I leave links!)

  9. No problem horse wife. I look forward to reading your blog.

  10. […] Square Footage of a Dome v. Square Home I had asked Total Tranny about this in the comments here, but as I thought about it, it’s pretty easy to […]

  11. WhoreChurch says:

    Ran across this today while looking for pics of men on ladders. I was going to post it at nohassles, but that blog still hasn’t been fixed. Thought you might like to see how this family put together their dome:

    http://www.millerdome.com/

  12. Thanks WC. It is actually quite helpful.

Leave a Reply

