I’m In Need of Prayer…

Posted: April 26, 2007 in Christ, Christianity, faith, financial aid, prayer, prayer request

It turns out I could use some prayer.

Once again (since this happens without fail every year) my financial aid has been messed up- through no fault of my own.

I only found out because I bothered to check on my loan status, only to find that all my Stafford Loans had been canceled. I called the financial aid department at my future university to see what the problem was. As it turned out, the university where I obtained my Masters had allocated me more subsidized Stafford funds than they were allowed to.

So now the complicated dance begins between me, my lender, and my previous institution of higher learning. Apparently N.C. State now has to send the funds back to the lender who needs to issue some kind of new unsubsidized loan before UNC-Greensboro can grant me a financial aid award letter. All of this means I am highly unlikely to get my financial aid in August- when I need it to cover the costs of my 4 hour round trip drive back and forth to campus.

AND since this problem involves the financial aid office and my lender the problem (in their words not mine) could take “several months to resolve.” I need that loan in August- I could use it before then actually.

So please keep me and this situation in your prayers.  Thanks.

Comments
  1. drea says:

    I read your profile and was ilke “is this my hubby under an alias name?” haha. My husband just turned 30 and has completely changed his life around (health wise). He is a big mac and french fry lover! So over the past 4 yrs hes gotten a little out of shape. Once hitting 30 (back in Dec) though he realized he needed to change his lifestyle since health disease runs in his family. And boy has he! He works out 5 days a week and has completely re-done his diet. He even drinks those discusting whey protien shakes! (they look like barf, seriously).
    So good for you getting things together.
    I wonder if this will happen to me at 30? although im a health nut as it is I cant imagine getting any more paranoid at 30.

  2. “He even drinks those discusting whey protien shakes!”

    That reminds me, time for my shake. Thanks for the comments.

  3. I remember the days of needing those financial aid checks!! My prayers are with you! Keep us posted as to how it’s going. Hopefully they will work it out quickly!

  4. J.D. says:

    Wow, that must be a pain. It is frustrating when you are adversely affected by other’s mistakes. You’ll be in my prayers, and hopefully the situation will get worked out by the time you need the money.

  5. timbob says:

    Greetings. I’ll definately be praying about this situation.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.

    timbob

  6. TT, of course you will be in my prayers 🙂

    But you really have to rely on God with this, dont dispair, just let Him take care of it. It might be the day before you have to go there, but He will come through if you put your WHOLE trust in Him!

    Love and Blessings
    Andrea

  7. Not despairing…yet. I know God is faithful, but it never hurts to seek prayer.

  8. stevereenie says:

    Sounds like they put you in a tough spot. My prayers are out with you. Keep us updated………Next Stop Lauderdale

  9. Neil says:

    I prayed for you. Sorry to hear about the financial hassles. What a drain!

    Speaking of whey shakes – here’s my Veggie Boy recipe.

    It has it all – uh, except great taste – just a little fat from the milk, plenty of protein, lots of fiber, etc.

    Drink a few glasses of this a day and you can just eat Snickers bars the rest of the time!

  10. Thinking of you, TT. It really sucks when that money isn’t there – grad students use it to live, and if their aid isn’t in, they don’t get to eat. 😦 Good luck.

  11. I am lucky that my wife works. Unfortunately for me, my new program is so far away that the gas expense will be a real burden. Without the extra funding I can’t defray the cost of travel- not to mention possibly buying a new car that can handle the drive.

  12. hmmm…. not looking forward to those days…

    will be praying for you.

  13. Jason McNutt says:

    Been there done that. Student loans are a hassle and seem to never go away. You are in our prayers.

  14. isaacme says:

    We’re praying man.

  15. Chris Gates says:

    Consider yourself prayed for, brother. Perhaps, like in the case of the poor farmer who sought help from St. Benedict, you’ll find “13 gold pieces” in your mail box; 12 for your debts, and one for you. Grace be with you.

    Soli Deo Gloria.

  16. Such would be a wonderful solution.

  17. Prayers, good thoughts, and lots of support being sent your way! Lady Rose

Leave a Reply

