Well here I am two days into this, and I think I am on to something with this resistance training followed immediately by running approach.  I went to bed last night at 183.6 lbs (about .6 lbs below my weight the night before) and woke up at 181.6 lbs- well below my weight from yesterday morning of 182.4 lbs.  Even now, right after dinner, I weigh 183 lbs.

I think that this workout approach will work- assuming I don’t over train- by keeping my body in a near constant high metabolism stage.  While the running burns extra calories, it is the weight lifting (resistance training) that gives the body a period of 48-72 hours of high metabolism as the body recovers.  Add on to that the demand for more energy in the break down of protein with each meal and my body is like a furnace now burning calories left and right.  Now I just need to make sure I don’t burn any muscle.

While I am fine with no putting on muscle at this point, I just want to make sure I don’t lose any.  I don’t think I am as my arm and leg measurements have remained constant.  Well I hope tomorrow brings more good news.

BTW thanks to all who sent happy birthday wishes my way.

Comments
  1. Charity says:

    Great to hear that this new approach is working so far. I can’t wait to see the total results from this test.

  2. Neil says:

    I’m not as scientific about it as you are, but I have found the lifting / aerobic mix to work really well. It provides some variety and keeps me from overtraining certain joints.

Leave a Reply

