Today I ran and did some plyometric/resistance training. It was a hard day on my body, but it felt good.

I began with a morning run.  I challenged myself to run 25 minutes and I came close.  I ran 21 1/2 (6 1/2 minutes more than the day before), and only stopped because I could tell I was pushing my body a little too far, a little too fast.  So for the next week or two, twenty minutes will be my cut off point for runs.  My pulse looked good, before, during, and after my run.

This afternoon I worked my whole body.  Beginning with plyometric jump squats and star jumps (2 sets), followed by lunge jumps, then push-ups, dips, dead lift-curl-press, bent knee raise, planks, and side planks.  It was a hard workout that pushed my heart rate well into the 180s.

Tomorrow will probably include a short run and walk.

Comments
  1. cturpen says:

    Good for you! I had to give up running because it jacked with my knees. Instead I’ve been doing a lot of walking. Sounds like you are really on the right track to reach your goals!

  2. thanks for your comment on my site. I think you are really on the right track to weight loss. Keep it up!

  3. I’m really proud of you. You are doing great. As a matter of fact, because of your stellar example, maybe I will excercise some will power tonight and stay away from the carbs and sweets.

    Maybe.

    Sherri

  4. My wife made brownies tonight. I didn’t even taste the batter. Talk about self-control. Lol.

  5. krkbaker says:

    Wow, I’ve never been able to run. Something I’ve always wished that I could do. Shin splints. I guess I could push through something like that. Maybe. Great work.
    Kim

  6. jarvis says:

    Stellar job running brother… running is so soothing and can add a unique zest to one’s quality of life. Keep up the great work!

    Blessings In Christ Bro

  7. Herschel says:

    I’ve been struggling with my weight and my level of fitness since passing the 30 mark. From what I’ve read and more importantly what I’ve learned, you need to ramp up your heart rate training.

    If you are trying to loose weight, you are better served by decreasing the heart rate during your workout to about 75% of your maximum heart rate (220-Current Ages = Maximum Heart Rate) and maintaining that rate for at least forty minutes a day. It takes your body about 20 minutes to warm up so plan on exercising about 60 minutes a day.

    So if you are 30 years old, get your heart working at about 142 and keep it there for 40 minutes.

    Since I am about 40 pounds over weight for that running really wreaks havic on my knees and joints. I have found that getting on a treadmill and walking at about 4 M.P.H at an hill angle of 4-6% gets my heart into the right zone and my body does much better afterwards.

  8. I appreciate the comments Herschel. Right now I am building my stamina back- I will worry about HR target training when I am capable of running 40 minutes straight.

Leave a Reply

