Some Interesting Articles on the Web Today

Posted: April 11, 2007 in celebrities, democrats, News, pelosi, Politics, Religion, sin, Spiritual Struggle, teaching, Virtues

Real Inconvenient Truths, Camille Paglia.

“However, I am a skeptic about what is currently called global warming. I have been highly suspicious for years about the political agenda that has slowly accrued around this issue. As a lapsed Catholic, I detest dogma in any area. Too many of my fellow Democrats seem peculiarly credulous at the moment, as if, having ground down organized religion into nonjudgmental, feel-good therapy, they are hungry for visions of apocalypse. From my perspective, virtually all of the major claims about global warming and its causes still remain to be proved.” [1]

[Camille hit the nail on the head. Wow.]

Biblical Liberation from Liberalism, Michael Medved.

“Leviticus 19:15 declares: ‘You shall not commit a perversion of justice: you shall not favor the poor and you shall not honor the great, with righteousness shall you judge your fellow.’… …It should, indeed, come as a revelation and a rebuke to all liberals that Holy Scripture identifies ‘favoring the poor’ as ‘a perversion of justice.'” [1]

[The religious left has really taken off in the last few years. They are making sure that Gandhi Jesus will be enshrined forever as the uber-guru of peace and love for all. If you are lucky enough to get them to admit Jesus was God (and not simply a prophet or a great man), don’t even bother trying to get them to define concepts like justice and wrath- they are anathema to their ears. They have ignored God’s justice to focus on his love. Committing as grievous an error as the legalists they parody, who make the opposite mistake.]

Al Sharpton: Nappy Headed Race Ho?, Mike Adams.

“When the present controversy broke out, I was initially confused over which part of the phrase ‘nappy headed ho’ had set Sharpton off. After all, two years ago at one of my speeches I was called a ‘Little Milky’ by a Pakistani professor at Monmouth College in Illinois. Rather than calling for her to be fired, I just made fun of her in a very public way.” [2]

[Sharpton (and his ilk) want to exploit specific, politically beneficial cases of “racist” language. After all, something has to pay for the honorable Reverend’s jogging suits and bling*.

*For all my un-hip readers, unable to keep up with slang, the term “bling-bling” has dropped the second bling to become simply “bling”.]

The Culture of “Bitches, Hos, and Niggas”, Michelle Malkin.

“The No. 1 rap track is by a new sensation who goes by the name of “Mims.” The “song” is “This Is Why I’m Hot.” It has topped the charts for the last 15 weeks. Here’s a taste of the lyrics that young men and women are cranking up in their cars:

This is why I’m hot
Catch me on the block
Every other day
Another bitch another drop
16 bars, 24 pop
44 songs, nigga gimme what you got . . .
. . . We into big spinners
See my pimping never dragged
Find me wit’ different women that you niggas never had
For those who say they know me know I’m focused on ma cream
Player you come between you’d better focus on the beam
I keep it so mean the way you see me lean
And when I say I’m hot my nigga dis is what I mean.” [3]

[Where is the collective outrage about this garbage? Why do many academics teach classes on this garbage and defend it as a valid expression of ghetto angst? Where are the demonstrations and marches? I guess there is too much money involved for all- producers and performers alike.]

The Nancy Pelosi School of Freeland Diplomacy, Don Feder.

Hi, I’m Nancy Pelosi, and I’m not only speaker of the House of Representatives (my day job), I’m also the founder and president of The Nancy Pelosi Famously Inept School of Free-Lance Diplomacy.

We can give you the training and tools you need to become a famously inept free-lance diplomat – just like Jesse Jackson, Jimmy Carter and me!

You don’t have to be the president, secretary of state or an ambassador to engage in free-lance diplomacy. You don’t even need half a brain – as my recent trip to the Middle East demonstrates.

All that’s required is an entrenched naiveté, an unshakable faith in the good will of tyrants and terrorists and a dogmatic adherence to a leftist worldview. We can supply the rest — as well as teaching you how to say “pass the humus” in Arabic and Farsi. [4]

[Where do I sign up?]

Climate change concert star Madonna accused of hypocrisy, Richard Simpson.

“Madonna’s Confessions tour produced 440 tonnes of CO2 in four months of last year. And that was just the flights between the countries, not taking into account the truckloads of equipment needed, the power to stage such a show and the transport of all the thousands of fans getting to the gigs. “The Red Hot Chili Peppers produced 220 tonnes of CO2 with their private jet alone over six months on their last world tour which was 42 dates.

“The average a British person produces is 10 tonnes a year,” said John Buckley, managing director-of CarbonFootprint.com.” [45]

[Am I supposed to care? I mean look at that, even the average British person produces 10 tonnes a year of carbon. I wonder how much of this comes from the simple act of exhaling (something everyone does quite often). Yes I see the hypocrisy, but as I believe that the current global warming hysteria is almost all hype, I don’t care if Madonna doubles her CO2 footprint. Heck, I wouldn’t be bothered if she left a whole trail. But it would be nice if she wasn’t so preachy about something she doesn’t seem to care about in her personal life.]

Comments
  1. Imus’ insult to the Rutgers’ basketball team has steadily been grieving my spirit for days. Whatever Rev. Sharpton’s morals, or motives, this was an outrageous, degrading remark on so many levels. First of all, it degraded typically African hair. This hair is the hair God chose in his creative genius to bestow on peoples of African descent and is beautiful in an of its own right. Our culture constantly sends messages to AA girls and women that this hair is ugly and “bad” (see my article in archives “Hair”) and unfortunately it is so pervasive in our society that many in the AA community have also bought into the lie. Despite my best attempts to honor my daughter as the unique creation of God she is, she still refused to wear her hair loose. Recently, I took her to an AA salon to have her hair trimmed for the first time. To ensure the edges were even, the stylist “flat ironed” it first. As soon as Claudine saw the long straight hair she said, “I want to wear my hair like this every day.” I tried to tell her her curly hair was beautiful but was unable to dissuade her.

    I know you have a little girl. Can you place yourself in my shoes? Can you place your daughter in Claudine’s?

    Secondly, I don’t care who is saying it: To call a group of women ‘hos is despicable. It is despicable when AA’s say it and it is especially despicable when a man who has never walked around in a minority’s skin (who has a microphone) says it. The bottom line is Imus made huge negative assumptions about a group of girls based on the color of their skin and in doing so, he perpetuated negative sterotypes against all girls of color, including my daughters.

    And, my friend, is that “ribs” comment yours?

    Please, tell me “no”.

    Blessings,
    Sherri

    Sherri

  2. Neil says:

    Good points. Imus was wrong regardless of the race issue (why be so cruel?).

    “Ghandi Jesus” – good one! That pretty much sums up the theological left. They pick and choose what they like about Jesus while ignoring the rest (I was just studying the Seven Woes from Matthew 23). Love the Medved quote.

  3. Everyday, the ribs comments is based on an old “In Living Color” skit that depicted Sharpton on a hunger strike in front of the Piggly Wiggly.

    As the reporter interviewed him, he would cleverly distract her every few seconds. While she was distracted he would grab food he had hidden close by. One of the places where Mr. Sharpton hid his food was in the trash can directly to his left. Every now and then he would open the lid, from which hung a large rack of ribs.

    I didn’t choose ribs because it had a racial connotation/stereotype attached to it- as your comment seems to hint, but of which I am totally unaware. Had I wanted to choose a stereotypical black food, I would have used fried chicken. But that’s not even funny since stereotypical “black” foods are really southern foods- imagine that, a false stereotype. 🙂

    Sorry if my comment caused any offense.

  4. Do I really have to state that Imus’s comments were stupid? I mean that is apparent to anyone who hears them. But do they equal the media storm that has erupted? I don’t think so.

    Imus is a shock jock, that is what they do. We are free to tune in to their station or ignore them.

    However, racial demagogues are treating this like it was the worst comment ever made on radio. The man sad something stupid, he did apologize (profusely), should it ruin his life?

    Listen, I don’t agree with almost anything that comes of the mouths of men like Stern, Imus, et al., but as a citizen who is devoted to preserving the freedom of speech (even beyond constitutional bounds) I don’t think a simple one time comment that was quickly retracted should end someone’s career.

    Gosh, Ward Churchill still has his career and he has said far worse things and refused to retract them. Where is the national media on that one?

    This is another example of selective coverage. As the Malkin article highlights, where is the outrage over far worse statements contained in the current #1 and #2 Billboard top rap singles? This has become a rather silly game of one sided standards. And Imus learned that even rich white men who try to assuage their guilt by adopting modern liberal positions don’t stand a chance playing the racial demagogues game.

  5. I removed the rib comment since it seemed to offend someone who I consider and on-line friend. However, I do so under the protest that we have all become to sensitive to what appears a “racial stereotype.” Can’t a rotund person of any race enjoy ribs? They are both tasty and full of nutritious fats and protein.

    Admittedly, I shouldn’t have taken the cheap shot at the right reverend’s weight issues in the first place. But you can’t expect me not to make fun of the jogging suits and bling. I have only so much self-control.

  6. Angel says:

    great overview buddy!.ty.:)

  7. You made me chuckle.

    I did not know about the television show you mentioned. I guess I don’t watch enough TV I also don’t have any idea what that Ninja thingie you mentioned is. I have been meaning to google it.

    Sherri

  8. I have a link to an “In Living Color” skit involving their depiction of Rev. Sharpton in the above article. (click where I highlighted his name). Sadly I couldn’t find the Piggly Wiggly skit anywhere.

    Ninja warrior clips are all over youtube.com. I have several posted on here a few posts back.

  9. mommyzabs says:

    As far as Imus, and the rap… It’s all wrong. period. A lot of conservatives are going around saying Imus shouldn’t have repreccusions because of the wrap music, but the fact is we all know 2 wrongs don’t make a right!

    All the rest you got up there. Good stuff very good stuff. Love the liberal bible verse. So tired of the libralization going on in the church.

  10. I do want to state this again, just for the public record. I am pointing to Sharpton’s past, not as a way to excuse Imus, but to point out a double standard in the media.

    Imus’s comments are without excuse. That being said, are they as bad as some are making them out to be? I don’t think so. Also, he apologized swiftly and seemingly sincerely for his careless words.

    Compare with Sharpton, who falsely slandered several men with the charge of racism AND rape. I am not holding my breath for any apologies from Sharpton on the Brawley case- and that’s been well over a decade*.

    Media double standard? Definitely! I think Imus suspension was the correct step and any further action should be taken by his advertisers and listeners.

    *”Sharpton has never apologized to Pagones for naming him a perpetrator.”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tawana_Brawley

  11. What is difficult for me to help many of my fellow white folks understand is how difficult it is to preserve the spirit of a black child in our society. That is why I take Imus’ comments(as well as the gangsta rap culture) personally.

    When I looked into the eyes of those hurt and offended girls on the Rutger’s team, I see the hurt in the eyes of my own daughters as their white classmates laugh at and make fun of their hair because it is different.

    Yes, free speech is a must but there are times when it is so misused and destructive that there MUST be an outcry, especially when it is a bunch of kids who are under attack.

    Sherri

  12. It sounds rough. Although, I must admit, I would be much more worried about the everyday culture of children calling black kids who work too hard at school “white” as much more dangerous to the psyche and soul of young children then Imus’s comments. Keep in mind his comments were directed towards young women in college. Whereas the culture that demonizes personal achievement as “white” is present even in elementary schools and directed at young children.

    I have seen this happen to black and Hispanic friends I grew up with. Ridiculed by their same race peers for bothering to complete homework, score well on tests, etc. Luckily, they stood their ground. Many others give in, as it is the easy thing to do.

  13. Chance says:

    Hey John,
    Thanks for visiting my blog. I like your remarks about “Ghandi Jesus”. I think we all have a tendency to fit Jesus into our ideal concept of what a man should be. Specifically, there has been a tendency to think of Jesus has some hippy who was only about love and never hurt anybody’s feelings.

    Like you seem to point out, it does seem that those of a cultural conservative flavor have focused on personal righteousness and maybe neglected the servitude of Christianity, whereas those culturally liberal fortunately focus on the poor and needy (although I disagree with their methods in the venue of government), but tend to see personal righteousness as less important.

  14. Thanks for the comment chance, you hit the nail on the head.

  15. in2thefray says:

    Are the Rutgers players really hurt by the moronic antics of a geriatric shock jock? OR Are they suffering from being put into the firestorm of others doings.It seems pretty clear that the players are far from the minds of their coach the school the Left as well as the Right. Imus will meet with them but this is too is for him and the fire stokers not them.

  16. in2thefray says:

    Are the Rutgers players really hurt by the moronic antics of a geriatric shock jock? OR Are they suffering from being put into the firestorm of others doings.It seems pretty clear that the players are far from the minds of their coach the school the Left as well as the Right. Imus will meet with them but this too is for him and the fire stokers not them.

  17. in2thefray says:

    sorry for the double up…what button did I press?

  18. That is fine, it deserved to be said twice.

  19. Great post and great comments! I like the global warming and liberalism part. As for Imus – I agree that what he did was wrong but considering others get away with things just as bad and sometimes worse under “freedom of speech” why the attack on him? (just like you pointed out with the songs – why is that even allowed to continue??) Personally, I wish all these people that say things like this would suffer some type of consequence. I think “freedom of speech” is abused in this country. That’s just my two cents though. 🙂

  20. […] like at 16 and 19?  The first batch of photos was not pretty.  For some examples just click here, here, and here.  Don’t forget this must see […]

Leave a Reply

