This day last week I woke up sick as a dog- with water and waste coming out both ends (gross I know). The preceding day I had weighed 191 pounds. Now here I am, a week later. The scale this morning read 183.8- a difference of almost seven pounds. So what’s the big difference?

It isn’t water weight, as I have been drinking 12+ cups a day for the last five days- and haven’t had diarrhea since about five days ago.

The primary responsibility belongs to G.E.R.D. and hard work in the yard. My G.E.R.D. suppressed my hunger in a rather severe fashion. Here is an example of what I ate yesterday.

Cheerios, apple sauce, water (4 cups)

Protein Bar (w/ 20 grams of protein), water

McDonald’s grilled chicken wrap, Diet Coke

Protein Bar (same kind as above), water

Two slices of a medium veggie pizza (Papa Johns), Fiber drink (Metamucil) (2 cups).

In addition to my decreased appetite, I have also done extensive amounts of yard work over the past few days. My tasks from yesterday included:

Hauling about 8 wheel barrels full of 5 to 25lbs rocks (about 150-200lbs per load). Setting those rocks up in the garden. Digging about a dozen holes for Azaleas and planting them. Digging a spot for a garden path. Shoveling leaves and hauling a tarp full of them across the road and over to a dumping spot (a legal and approved one for any who might be worried).

On Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday I work from about 9 in the morning until 6 at night doing similar tasks- our yard was a mess.

So what do you think?  Is this weight loss good, bad, or in between.  The reason I ask is that I’ve heard countless times that you can only safely lose one pound per week- but I’ve watched a lot of Biggest Loser shows and they seem to lose much more (and don’t appear too unsafe).

P.S.  My Chest, arm, and leg measurements are the same, so it doesn’t appear I am losing any muscle.

P.S.S. Pictures will be posted later today.

Comments
  1. I don’t think your weight loss is dangerous. I’m not a doctor though so I have no medical basis for that opinion. 🙂 I think the main thing about losing weight is that if you lose it too quickly your skin doesn’t shrink up like it does if you lose slower. I’ve seen people who have lost a lot of weight quickly and they have lots of skin just hanging from their body. If you were losing that much every week you might worry but since it’s been gradual up until now you are probably fine. You’re right – those people on biggest loser lose a lot! I had never seen that show until last season’s finale. That was amazing!! That guy that won looked like a totally different person!

    By the way, want to come do my yard work when you’re through with yours??? 😛

  2. Oh, I forgot – what is G.E.R.D.? Maybe you already said and I missed it but I don’t know what that is.

  3. G.E.R.D. = Gastro-Esophageal Reflux Disorder.

    And I won’t be finished with yard work for quite a long time. This place is a mess. Lots of work left behind by the previous owners.

  4. I figured it was probably reflux – in fact I had all of it except the esophageal figured out!

    Oh, well. I had to try. 🙂

  5. krislinatin says:

    I have an opinion for you, I don’t like to give opinions unless asked for, but for you i will make an exception 🙂
    Eat more veggies!
    Veggies are nature’s fiber, they are chock full of vitamins and minerals and all the good stuff.
    There is a major epidemic of people not eating enough veggies in their diet. i see it on these blogs, also. people may be eating the right stuff, but there are no veggies!!! 4 or 5 servings a day. (which really isn’t that much considering a serving is a half cup)
    If you are doing any kind of weight lifting, and then eating more portein, its essential to drink lots of water and veggies. You will get really really plugged up. (gross, i know, trust me)
    Soups, salads, hide them in anything, just eat them and lots of diff. varieties.
    hope that helps.
    Kristina

Leave a Reply

