Good News and Bad News

Posted: March 28, 2007 in fat, fitness, Food, health, life, Me, misc, my life, personal, prayer, sickness, weight

Good news and bad news.

Good stuff first.  My Master’s Thesis is available online for anyone to read or view.

Now the bad news.  I’ve been up since 2 A.M. with a disgusting combination of diarhea and puking.  Just now I puked for the fifth time today.  I believe it is food poisoning related to the 5 day old chinese food I ate yesterday.  At this point everything that was inside me has come out (i.e. the infamous chinese food, the steak I had for dinner that night, the popcorn I had for desert, and several doses of Pepto-Bismal.  At this point I can’t even keep water down- I end up throwing up about 45 minutes after any glass of water I drink.

If this continues past 4 O’clock today, I will be going to the emergency room.  Then I will enjoy the pleasures of visiting doctors without insurance- a luxury we are unable to afford.

Keep me in your prayers everyone.

Comments
  1. Yuck…get well, dude. I’ve had food poisoning before. Got a hold of some bad cookie dough ice cream. I was cramping for a week, so I feel your pain. Prayers sent.

    David.

  2. Sherpa says:

    I’ve been in your place more times than I’d like to admit.

    —try and get a hold of some gatorade if you can. and keep trying to drink regularly. I know you don’t want to…but keep trying.

    Also, rice water is really good for an upset stomach at both ends.

  3. I will pray for your healing. I am really sorry you are sick.

    Sherri

  4. WhoreChurch says:

    Good thesis. One of the more entertaining ones I’ve read (the last one I read was on ergonomic design for senior citizens, specifically focusing on control surfaces for stoves and ovens. 172 pages. Yawn.) I watch the occasional History Channel Civil War show and found the topic and the writing entertaining as well as informative.

    I didn’t understand until reading this how virtually every White in the South had a part in keeping the slaves from insurrection. That has huge implications for us today as we look at people crying out for reparations, southern whites claiming large plantation owners were the only guilty ones, etc.

    Interesting read.

    I didn’t catch any typos (doesn’t mean they’re not there I just didn’t see any), but page 112 is blank. Intentionally or not I don’t know, but just in case I thought I’d mention it.

  5. Oh, they require the page between the bibliogrpahy and the appendix to be blank except for the section title “appendix”. I thought it was odd to.

  6. “rice water”

    I’ve never heard of that. WedMD cautioned against gatorade in the beginning (due to the sugar content) and advised drinking Pedialyte. However, I think I will be drinking gatorade since Pedialyte tastes horrible. Should have known when my daughter wouldn’t drink the stuff a cuple months ago when she was sick.

  7. cumby says:

    Heavy duty thesis! “The 1821 Insurrectionary Scare In Eastern North Carolina.”

    Praying that you will feel better soon. That MSG will get you every time.

  8. Charity says:

    I had a flu that had me puking for 12 hours straight back in December. Nothing would stay down. I finally got some soda to stay down and a single cracker, but I was miserable until it stopped.

    Hope you get better soon. 🙂

  9. Thanks Charity. The puking has finally (for now) stopped. Here’s to hoping it stays that way.

  10. Clark says:

    How many times have I told you to stay away from the old Chinese food! Ew! Get better soon man!

  11. Remember back at 4722? I could make one portion of General Tsao’s Chicken last over six days.

    Speaking of which, we need to head out to Wilmington and eat at Schezuan 132 sometime soon.

  12. sherpa says:

    the thing about gatorade—it tastes better going up than water or pedialyte. I water it down.

    Rice helps settle the stomach when a bout of diarrhea hits.

  13. Gram Kaiser says:

    Now I know what a Blog is. Thanks. I,just got over the stomach flu you had in March. UGH! Had I known, you would have had my sympathy, Sorry. Oh, I found your book list unusual. Will try to find the ones you want. well, some of them. I am enjoying this! I would suggest you rent in a small town before considering buying. The gossip mill is rampant and often wrong, never worth paying attention to, but difficult to get away from.

Leave a Reply

