My New Workout

Posted: March 23, 2007 in Biblical Weight Loss, fat, fitness, Food, health, life, Me, misc, my life, personal, weight, Weight loss

After having dealt with the ravages of illness and the pain of getting back into a fitness routine, I have restructured my fitness regime to better suit my goals.  Keep in mind I am not getting ready to run a marathon, nor am I seeking to enter any bodybuilding competitions.

I am seeking maximum fitness, minimum injuries, and a workout that I can stick with.  When I say stick with I mean it can’t take longer than 30 minutes- not counting the walk (which you can do anytime of the day).  So for your enjoyment here is the plan I came up with.

A Day (Example)

Walk (30 minutes)

Jump Rope (3-5 minutes)

Superset of squats and lunges (18 reps each)/Superset of planks and supermans (3 reps of 20 seconds each)/Superset of deadlifts and sit-ups (18 reps each)/Superset of bench press and bent-over rows (18 reps each)/Superset of dumbbell flyes and bent-over [shoulder blade] shrug (18 reps each).

Repeat Supersets at 12 reps each

Jump Rope (3-5 minutes).

B Day (Example)

Walk (30 minutes) otherwise rest

C Day (Example)

Walk (30 minutes)

Jump Rope (3-5 Minutes)

[Core and Abs supersets] jack knife sit-ups and supermans (18 each)/alternate leg-arm lift and elbow to knee crunches (18 reps)/planks (6 reps of 20 seconds) and slow-sit ups (6 seconds up, 6 seconds down)(18 reps)

Repeat Core Workout using up to 12 reps- if possible. It most likely won’t be 🙂

Jump Rope (3-5 Minutes).

As always exercise safely, consult a physician, and enjoy!

Comments
  1. 1ofHis says:

    What are “planks and supermans”?

  2. To perform a proper plank you get into a push-up position- except with your forearms on the floor. Keeping yor back straight, concentrate on sucking in your abdominals- think of sucking your belly button in until it touches your spine. Here is an image of the proper plank position:

    http://exercise.about.com/od/abs/ss/abexercises_10.htm

    To do a “superman” lie flat on your stomach- hands stretched out in front of you. Simultaneously lift your feet, legs, chest, and arms off the floor. I’ve added a link to the main section so you can see an illustration.

  3. Neil says:

    1 of His, I wondered the same thing! I have worked out regularly for 30 years but hadn’t heard of those.

    Sounds like an intense routine. My advice to people who haven’t been exercising is just to do something . . . anything! Just go walk for 20 min. 3 times a week for starters. It is virtually impossible to injure yourself and you can then phase into something more strenuous if you like.

  4. Neil says:

    I started doing planks a few months ago and didn’t even know what they were called!

  5. Yeah Neil. I began with the principle that something is better than nothing. For, I had been doing nothing. Luckily though I am young, I wasn’t grossly overweight, and I had a certain level of fitness (perhaps more so youth) so I could transition quicker.

    I have little doubt that the more weight you have on you, the easier it is to lose by doing small and simple adjustments to your life- walking 20 minutes a day, no more soda, etc. As you have less weight to lose you need to work harder to rid your body of those remaining pounds.

  6. Sounds like a great workout.

    I kick box twice a week, and we frequently warm up with 2 -3 minutes of jumping rope. It amazes me how much a child’s game can kick my butt!

    Have you considered adding different types of push ups into your workout? I do believe that they are the best overall exercise we can do to build out bodies.

    Brian

  7. I vary my push-ups. I like the plyometric jumping push-ups. I also left out that during my walk I do some plyometric jumping squats. It drives my dog crazy.

  8. I got your message an my blog and came to check out your workout. Looks pretty hard! 🙂 I was going to wait a few more days to see how things went but I’ll go ahead and tell you – I started a new workout routine on Monday and it’s working pretty well so far. I’ve lost three pounds. 🙂 I’m not too excited yet because the scale has said that before and then it bounces right back up a day or two later. I hope this time it works and I can actually lose some real weight!!

    Thanks for the new ideas – I hadn’t thought of jumping rope – I might try that!

  9. timbob says:

    Greetings. Your consistancy and steadfastness is something that all of us can take to heart.
    Have a blessed weekend in Christ.

    timbob

  10. DulceDiana says:

    Have a great weekend brother!

  11. Angel says:

    hi there..plancks are awesome and difficult!..good luck!

  12. atatude says:

    I hope you get in shape because I sure can’t STAY on a diet or workout. Have you seen the clip on youtube where the actors got in Spartan shape. Most people would just puck and role over if they tried it.

  13. frieda says:

    Have you considered Krav Mega?? Martial Arts and Kick boxing in Israeli style..check out their site: http://www.kravmaga.com
    It’s a greatest way to loose wieght…check it out

Leave a Reply

