Sexercise- How Good of an Exercise is Sex?

Posted: February 23, 2007 in fitness, Weight loss
Tags: , , , , ,

Okay, this article has several important points, and one (or all) of them may shock you.

First, and not surprising, sex and exercise are linked. Men who exercise 20-30 minutes a day are less likely to suffer sexual dysfunction.

Second, sex burns calories, more than you think.

“[H]aving sex three times a week burns the same calories as running about 30 miles per week.” (1).

Wow! I hate running, but as for sex, I have a VERY different opinion.

Third, and perhaps the most shocking to some, the context of your sexual act matters. If you engage in sex as part of a monogamous relationship or a casual fling, each has it’s own effect:

“Experts believe that sex in a loving relationship has a healing effect on body and mind, but that promiscuous sex has the opposite effect (sorry to burst your bubble).” (2)

For those interested in checking out the story, check out ediets.com. While you are there why not use their free system to set up a weight loss profile. The service is free (up to a point) and they will give you a good start with information about your caloric intake, diet tips, etc.

Comments
  1. britandgrit says:

    Hi -J,

    I’ll have to show this post to my wife ;)

    That’s an impressive weight loss you’ve got going. I just dropped from 210 to 188, because my doctor scared me. Good luck with it.

    the Grit

  2. Think I should tell my wife when she gets home that she is my new piece of exercise equipment? I might get slapped…lol.

  3. cumby says:

    Exercise is good, sex is better. This is great news. :D

  4. timbob says:

    Greeting. I’ll not concern myself with taking up running.
    Thanks for the encouraging post.
    timbob

  5. damewigginsoflee says:

    Is it wrong to refer to your lover as your treadmill??

  6. Justin V says:

    What did Adam Sandler’s Mom say to his wife.. I know it more enjoyable for you to be on top, but let him get on top ok, he needs to lose a few pounds.

  7. Most men who suffer from sexual dysfunction are diabetic; Type II diabetes is prevented by diet and exercise (and those who do the latter are more likely to have good eating habits).

    Of course, I’m just bitter because there’s a snowball’s chance in Hell of me getting married and therefore having a sex life. :)

  8. The diabetes/ED link or the bitterness? :)

  9. The bitterness of course….lol.

  10. The nerd in me can’t help but plot data points and extrapolate. My love life is legendary – and not in a good way. No exaggeration, it’s freakishly bad… beyond all bounds of normalcy.

    On a good note, one of my guy friends offered up his Taser. The result of giving a good “bzzzttt” to the next guy who propositions me would probably boost my immune system, relieve stress, and help me lose weight. Ha! Bet the ediet people didn’t count on that! As it is, though, my best prophylatic is my personality. You haven’t lived until you’ve seen this elephant, probably on the pink side, telling someone to sod off and find a farm animal.

    So when I read studies that say, “Sex is great! Married sex is wonderful!” I can’t help but snarkishly point out the methodological flaws. Really, it’s bad enough to suffer through every creep on both coasts (not to mention the indignity of having my married/engaged friends call me up, in need of entertainment, to hear about the latest film noir debacle) – now y’all have to tell me that it’s going to kill me sooner, too!

    Harrumph! As Miracle Max said in the Princess Bride, “Why don’t you give me a nice paper cut and pour some lemon juice on it?”

  11. Well, way to be an optimist…lol.

  12. Thanks! Have to keep healthy somehow – as you well know. :) Heading out for a swim to make up for my single status. :)

  13. markrmorris2 says:

    LOVW IT! I am so tired of Christians pretending they don’t like sex, this is a every refreshing attitude. Maybe if more young people were exposed to these kinds of healthy discussions they would get the point. I know from my own children if I want o make them curious all I have to do is tell them not to a thing with no good explanation. Anyway, bravo!

  14. DulceDiana says:

    Good tip! Wow, I learned something today for sure. 30 MILES?!!

  15. DulceDiana says:

    Sorry…thought of something else…it doesn’t tell you how long it needs to last, and this is considering you get it 3x/week?

  16. I noticed that too. I am going to assume it means 30 minutes or longer.

  17. Grace says:

    So that explains why my husband is so fit! LOL!

  18. Awesome.

    I’ll have to pass this on to my wife…
    …of course, before men go pushing their wives into “getting more”, they better brush up on some romance and keeping that woman in love with them.
    Changing diapers and doing dishes does wonders in this house.
    In fact, I’m going to go mow the lawn right now!! WITHOUT BEING ASKED!! (how bout that?)
    mark jr.

  19. “In fact, I’m going to go mow the lawn right now!! WITHOUT BEING ASKED!”

    Wow. Truly you are a man above us other men. I usually must be asked at least twice…lol.

  20. Well, I didn’t have to get asked the third time…

    or even once today! Does the rest of the week count?
    mark jr.

  21. Tammi says:

    I completely missed this in March. Thanks for reposting :)

    Bridget – the perfect man is out there for you. Patience dear, patience. You are such a class act that any man would be blessed to have you.

  22. “Bridget – the perfect man is out there for you. Patience dear, patience. You are such a class act that any man would be blessed to have you”

    I tried to set her up with a friend of mine- she wasn’t interested. :-P And I am sure her heart breaks to know that I am a taken man- as do the hearts of many women. [Enjoy the feigned large ego].

  23. Tammi says:

    And I am sure her heart breaks to know that I am a taken man- as do the hearts of many women.

    LOL!

  24. I tried to set her up with a friend of mine- she wasn’t interested. :-P And I am sure her heart breaks to know that I am a taken man- as do the hearts of many women.

    If by “not interested,” you mean “living in a different time zone,” perhaps.

    No, my heart breaks because polygamy is not socially acceptable… :(

  25. “No, my heart breaks because polygamy is not socially acceptable.”

    I know people looking to change that. :-P

  26. In all seriousness, if marriage law is altered to allow for gay marriage Mormons have good reason to be upset- being forced to exchange polygamy in order to become a state. Our country was so unenlightened back then.

  27. Kristen says:

    I’m a bit late in finding your blog…via Tam’s blog, but I found this post hilarious (and educational!), so I just had to leave a comment. I’m sure my husband would be thrilled with this type of information, however, I’m not sure he needs any more encouragement in that department. I might just keep this little pearl of wisdom to myself :) I’m always knew sex was a good workout, but 30 miles WOW..that is amazing!

  28. “I might just keep this little pearl of wisdom to myself ”

    While that might be your intent I’ve programmed this particular post to alert the husbands of all those women lucky enough to read it. By now he has already received three phone calls, two emails, and one very large guy name Larry- all conveying the same message.

    “Have more sex! It is VERY healthy!”

  29. Kristen says:

    What do you mean “one very large guy named Larry”? Is he coming to my doorstep??

    Since I was giggling while reading the thread and messages, DH asked what I was laughing about….and…well, I had to give in and tell him. He thought it was fantastic information! Always looking for an excuse NOT to use his gym membership which he has faithfully had for over a year, and not used in 11 1/2 months.

    This does make me want to wear my heart rate monitor and calorie counting watch during said activities…..hmmmmmm.

  30. I will be sure to post a follow-up article this week. Your husband can use the following link to show me his appreciation for the excuse and/or justification provided by this post.

    The “Thank you for giving me an excuse to have more you-know-what with my wife” Fund

  31. Kristen says:

    LOL, I’ll let him know!

  32. Kristen says:

    Just an FYI, I referenced your blog on my blog…in reference to the ediets article :)
    Thanks for the info….

  33. [...] Does it Take to get to the Center of an Awesome Upper Body? Photo Evidence: Progress? You Decide.Sexercise- How Good of an Exercise is Sex?About Me…Warning Cute Baby Pictures Below…The Double F Workout…Book Review: The American [...]

  34. Sharon says:

    …of course, before men go pushing their wives into “getting more”, they better brush up on some romance and keeping that woman in love with them.

    This is particularly for “Iseeitdifferently”: Can I get you to talk to my husband? :) My problem is the opposite – I want more sex; he doesn’t and doesn’t realize (even though I’ve told him without nagging, of course) that he needs to be romancing and keeping me in love with him. Not only is sex good for exercise, it’s also essential for an emotional connection.

    Also, a comment to the person who said somthing about being tired of Christians not liking sex – I’m a Christian and I LOVE sex! One thought to keep in mind is that God came up with the idea of sex and when God does something, it is good! :)

  35. Thanks for the comments Sharon. The romance is of course key, I don’t advocate treating one’s spouse like a treadmill.

  36. [...] Posts Update: Before and After Pictures…Sexercise- How Good of an Exercise is Sex?How Many Push-Ups Does it Take to get to the Center of an Awesome Upper Body? Training for Ninja [...]

  37. Jesus says:

    I love you so much for this ^^

  38. Great post. I have been joking to my wife for years about this. Seriously, I have been trying to determine how to get more exercise, and I love “intimate time” with my wife, so I Googled “sex as exercise”, and this is one page that came up. BTW, I also happen to be a religious type. I think what was said about sex in a loving relationship is spot-on, and am not surprised that it isn’t necessarily so outside of that.

  39. adele says:

    sex is the beastthing in the world i could do it until i die with out stoping.

  40. jodi says:

    thean we are going 2 get started cant weat

  41. wisdom says:

    After walking out in the morning,is it proper you have sex in the morning?am on top but so tied cant even release anything.

  42. Dario says:

    Sex can do much more than just put a smile on your face and satisfy your urges, it’s great cure for your organism; it solve stress and cholesterol, cure headaches and boost the immune system, it gets your heart rapidly beating, increases energy, stretches all kinds of muscles and burns calories. all we need to do is find good “workout partner” ;)

  43. 5- The real truth about whenever and approaches to use each of those
    dumbbells and equipments to put on excellent muscle quickly.
    If you would definitely be a true beginner to figuring out
    to gain muscular, you will need to begin your workouts inside
    the gym or health and fitness center to use trainers and other staff to
    support and teach anyone setup your schooling routine.
    At duration for just a very limited time time period, it’ll be incorporated a unique plan that will produce complete ”mirror magic” for your entire body within seven days.

  44. “Statistics for Word – Press” definitely forms the
    main statistical indicators for the blog. Please make sure you are self hosting your WordPress Blog.
    Occasionally, bloggers may decide to disable the comments section on their
    Word – Press blogs.

  45. Ahaa, its good discussion about this article at this place at this weblog, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

  46. Gene says:

    Adore your interesting site. Check this fantastic SEO news at: ncodesoft *com

Leave a Reply

