Day Fifteen- Full-blown Flu

Posted: February 22, 2007 in Biblical Weight Loss, fitness, Weight loss

Well it appears I am quite sick.  I was tipped off by the constantly dripping nose and the cough that kept me awake last night.  So for now the workouts are on hold.

However, if there’s anything I’ve learned from past diet failures, when you get sick don’t let it be an excuse to overeat.  After all, when I am sick I feel so miserable, all I want to do is eat.   Well not this time.

It is a rough time in the house in general as my wife and daughter are both sick as well.  But praise God this too shall pass!

On a positive note, I have been hired on to teach several courses at a local community college.  And the best part, I get to teach American History (most people starting out are stuck with western civ.).  The Lord really amazed me in all this.  My jobless status is something my wife and I have had in prayer for quite some time.  A few days ago I finished my morning prayers and got on-line only to find an email asking if I would like to interview for an open teaching position.

“Praise God, for He is good, and His love endures forever!”

Forgive any errors in this post as I have lots of NyQuil in my system at this point.

Comments
  1. Paul D. says:

    Praise the Lord that He provided the job!
    I am sorry you are sick… that’s no fun. I hate being sick!
    Paul D.

  2. First of all thank you for stopping at my website, and now you can even visit my blog…HAHA
    I am amazed at how you stick to your diet. I just dont have it in me at this time. Praise God that He gives you the endurance for this change of lifestyle.
    I will pray that you and your family will to get feeling better shortly.
    Love
    In Christ
    Andrea

  3. Jayleigh says:

    I know all about the cold medicine induced mental blocks. I’ve had them all winter long, it seems.

    Praise God for your interview.

    🙂

  4. Cristina says:

    John,
    Keep up the good work. Dieting is one of toughest things to do, but with the Lord help all things are possible. I pray you and your family heal quickly.

    God Bless
    Cristina

  5. isaacme says:

    Hay, the last time I got sick I lost 8 pounds, but that was because I threw up all day [not fun.] It doesn’t sound like you have that type of cold though. I hope you get well soon, and great to hear about the job.

  6. When I get sick I almost never throw up- I don’t even get nauseas. Since I don’t get nauseas when I get sick I tend to overeat. After all I feel like crap and don’t want to do anything other than sit around, why not sit around and eat. Thankfully that stops now. At this point, between maintaining my blog and my bible studies, I have other obsessions…lol.

  7. isaacme says:

    Awesome, ya, its a lot easier to put some obsession aside if you have something to take its place.

Leave a Reply

