Inspiration

Posted: February 19, 2007 in Bible Study, Biblical Topics, Biblical Weight Loss

I began reading Max Lucado’s Facing Your Giants today. I wanted to share some inspirational points from the first chapter.

“How long since you ran toward your challenge? We tend to retreat…Try a different tack. Rush your giant with a God-saturated soul.” Pg. 6.

“Giants. We must face them. Yet we need not face them alone. Focus first, and most, on God. The times David did, giants fell. The days he didn’t, David did.” Pg. 8.

“The God who made a miracle out of David stands ready to make one out of you.” Pg. 9.

God loves us all. So much so, that he died for us while we were lost in our sin. And for those who accept Christ’s offer of salvation (death to the world, and rebirth in Him) we are blessed to be called children of God.

If He was willing to do all that, how much more do you think He has in mind for each and every one of us? God has awesome plans for us- He only asks we have faith and trust in Him.

“God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”- Romans 5:8

“This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”- 1 John 4:10

“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!”- 1 John 3:1

Comments
  1. isaacme says:

    Very true. We have “Giants” in all aspects of our lives. Whether it be our relationship with God [sin is our Giant, luckily God can overcome sin] or weather our situation be worldly [like what you’ve been doing.] Its always important to remember that Jesus overcame all things. There is nothing we cannot do without gods help.

    Deuteronomy 33:29
    Blessed are you, O Israel! Who is like you, a people saved by the LORD ? He is your shield and helper and your glorious sword. Your enemies will cower before you, and you will trample down their high places.

    Now on another note, what is the reason you are doing this. I don’t mean that to sound discouraging. In fact, to remember why you are doing something is quite helpful. Are you doing this to be healthy, to look good, or some special or personal reason. I don’t mean to sound noisy, so if you don’t want to answer you don’t have to. I was just curious.

  2. Fang says:

    Even though we have different beliefs, I am glad we can have a civil discussion on my blog and agree. Thanks for that.

  3. Two reasons.

    First, my daughter. I want to be healthy enough to see her live a long and wonderful life.

    Second, and intricately intertwined, this is part of a process of giving God control over my cravings in regard to all worldly things- whether it be food or otherwise. Discipline to ear right is very similar to discipline to study my Bible everyday, to the discipline required to love my enemies, etc.

    I would be lying if I didn’t admit I would like to have a six-pack again, but that is secondary. First comes God and my daughter. Both motivate me to be the best in all I do for God’s glory. And God requires I model good behavior in all things I do not only for my Christian witness but for my daughter- the greatest blessing I have EVER received outside of my salvation.

    -J. Kaiser

  4. maarnetek says:

    I like your blog, you realy have a way with words.

    Actully I want to reply on your comment, that you didn’t know it was so bad here in South-Africa. Well actually what I posted wasn’t the half of it.
    I don’t really know where you are from, but have you ever noticed how manny South-africans are in Brittan and Australia? It’s sad that we feel safer in other countrys.

    We have big back yards, but children can’t play outside, it’s just not safe.

    If you want to know more about SA today visit our search engine http://www.24.com

    Well have a wonderfull day!

  5. DulceDiana says:

    Thanks for stopping my site and leaving your comments. My hubby is reading this book as well. We also found great encouragement, but most of all a greater challenge to pursue His love.

    Many Blessings to you.

  6. Germain says:

    Lucado has a way of writing that blatantly shouts in your face; beckoning you to understand His ways, His words, and His purpose. I’ve not exactly finished He Chose the Nails yet (it’s the Lunar New Year period over here), but the book has spoken to me volumes.

    GodBless and may we be testimonies for Him.

  7. Kyle says:

    JK – Very inspiring post — thanks for sharing. I actually have Facing Your Giants on my current list of “want to read” books. After reading your post, it will definitley be moving way up the list. Definitely sounds like an inspiration.

    Also, congrats on your great success so far with the weight loss. My wife and I are both trying to do the same, via the “First Place” scripture-oriented program. She’s having pretty good success so far; I’m struggling a bit more. But as you said, the motivations are strong and with God’s help I will succeed.

Leave a Reply

