Anyone Want in on This Action?

Posted: January 4, 2008 in contest, fitness, health, wager, weight, Weight Fat Loss, weight gain loss, Weight loss, weight loss for men, weight loss for women

A Friendly Fitness Wager

I posted a few comments on this idea over at Israel’s blog, and I am reposting here to give others an opportunity to join in.

How it Works: On January 7th, 2008 you take your “before” photos and record your stats (weight, body fat percentage, and waist measurements).  Follow whatever weight loss/fitness program you like and work hard for two months.  On March 2nd, 2008, take your “after” photos and retake all the above measurements.

Whatever method you choose to use to measure body fat (caliper, fancy scale, or website) be sure to use the same method and/or device consistently throughout the two month period.

Who Wins: The person who shows the greatest overall decrease in body fat percentage wins.

The Stakes: Each loser will pay $10 to the winners PayPal account.  Each contestant is personally responsible to follow through on their word in the event that they lose.  Remember, this is a friendly wager, so while the winner might not break your legs to obtain payment, you will probably lose some respect if you fail to pay up.

Dates: Begins 1/7/2008, Ends 3/2/2008.

How to Sign-up: Either send an email to me (totaltransformation) or leave a comment at the bottom of this post with your internet contact information.  Either way, be sure to leave a brief comment on the bottom of this post should you choose to participate.

Comments
  1. 4newbies says:

    It’s on, I will make sure to post as well and link to here. Bring it on folks, bring it on.

  2. John says:

    Sign me up John!

  3. Excellent, the pot grows to $20! Welcome aboard John.

  4. Fat Man says:

    thats it? jeeze. cheapos. Join in people, join in.

  5. Vilma Perez says:

    This is cool! I’m in!

    you can contact me here:

    http://vphealthandfitness.com

  6. Excellent, might I say it is a pleasure to have a lady in the mix now. Welcome.

  7. Vilma Perez says:

    :-) Now i’m feeling shy… but oh well. Hope you all don’t mind. I need all the motivatio I can get

  8. Plus it leads to some great blogging ideas. For example, maybe you could post on how you plan on spending your potential winnings. ;-) I have my eyes on a t-shirt and a chin-up bar.

  9. […] in which I blew my competition away, this one is between a group of us. A few days ago John from Total Transformation put out a challenge. I don’t back down easily so I accepted. The objective is pretty simple: […]

  10. […] goals yet.  On a positive note, I lost 3.5 lbs which puts me at 210.5 lbs to start off my little friendly fitness wager & the PNP 12 week challenge that will be starting next week.  That’s it.  I was […]

  11. […] with that being said, I thought I would post up my goals & ideas on how I plan to win the Friendly Fitness Wager Challenge & the PNP Blast the Fat […]

  12. rjtumble says:

    Hey! Sign me up for that, I’ll wipe the floor with all of you. :) I just happened to have started a new weight loss program and also just happened to have taken before pictures, lots of measurements, etc. so your wager is perfect timing. How/when are we posting statistics? Will we compare notes in March?

    Regarding winnings, I’ll probably spend it on exercise bands, I need some of those to help with stretching. Maybe a Pilates book.

    If anyone’s interested, they can see the plan I’m following (and my progress as I post it) on http://rjtumble.wordpress.com.

  13. Sure thing rjtumble, I can add you in. We started on Monday of this week (1/7), so a few days shouldn’t make much of a difference. Please email me at totaltransformation @yahoo.com with your stats (height, weight, and body fat percentage), a picture I can use of your, and a short story of your inspiration to get fit.

    Welcome to the competition RJ. And the pot grows to $40 for the winner.

  14. rjtumble says:

    Wow, $40, I might buy a Pilates book AND exercise bands. ;)

    I’ll send the required info later tonight, the pics are at home. I started the diet on the 8th so I’m only a day late. That’s when the pics and stats were captured.

    Thanks for the competition idea, let’s have some fun with this.

  15. Josh says:

    Great post. You may be interested in this too: http://www.americansforisrael.com/

Leave a Reply

